Moses – Changes (1971) {2000, Remastered Reissue}

Come all ye lovers of fuzz guitar and soak up the psych-tinged blues-rock sounds of Moses. Those who worship at the altar of power trios like Cream, the Jimi Hendrix Experience, and Blue Cheer should have no problem sidling up to Changes, the debut album by this Danish threesome. Originally released in 1971, Changes was recorded in just two days, and the no-frills production approach extends to the arrangements and song structures; this is straight-ahead, damn near primal-sounding music, with not one extra note or instrument added. Simple blues riffs are at the heart of each song, and while a few of the tracks veer toward the lengthy side, there’s little variation from that format. It’s the extended guitar workouts of Soren Hobjerg that fill out these cuts, but even that aspect of the band’s sound is relatively stripped-down. Hobjerg is by no means a flashy player – he doesn’t employ the science fiction sonic attack of Hendrix or the fleet-fingered fury of Ten Years After’s Alvin Lee. It’s more like he boiled the styles of guitarists like Hendrix, Lee, Eric Clapton, et al down to their bare essentials, coming out with a thick, visceral, fuzz-soaked tone full of power and punch. Bassist Jorgen Villadsen doesn’t engage in many John Entwistle/Jack Bruce-like flurries either, but he proves nimble enough to keep things moving underneath Hobjerg’s guitar excursions. And drummer/singer Henrik Laurvig pretty much follows suit, with a rhythmic approach that sticks closer to the pocket than many drummers of the day, and admittedly, a vocal style for which the word “serviceable” seems to have been invented. Seeing the light of day on CD for the first time, Changes will swiftly find its way into the hands of those who were hesitant about paying dearly for collectors-item vinyl copies, and makes an interesting curio for anyone with a love of hard-edged, bluesy psychedelia.

~ James Allen, All Music

Track List:

01. Changes [6:26]
02. I’m Coming Home [7:03]
03. Everything Is Changed [5:50]
04. Beginning [3:42]
05. Skaev [4:46]
06. Warning [7:15]

Drums – Henrik Laurvig
Guitar – Søren Højbjerg
Vocals, Bass – Jørgen Villadsen

EAC extraction logfile from 18. April 2008, 15:18 for CD
Moses / Changes

Used drive : _NEC DVD_RW ND-3520A Adapter: 1 ID: 0
Read mode : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, disable cache
Read offset correction : 48
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out : No

Used output format : Internal WAV Routines
44.100 Hz; 16 Bit; Stereo

Other options :
Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
Delete leading and trailing silent blocks : No
Native Win32 interface for Win NT & 2000

Range status and errors
Selected range
Filename C:bloguploadM71CMoses – ChangesMoses – Changes.wav

Peak level 94.7 %
Range quality 99.9 %
Copy OK

No errors occured

End of status report

[CUETools log; Date: 04.10.2018 3:23:17; Version: 2.1.6]
[CTDB TOCID: Ig6fyoBtLkAqQ3hI1Eh_.LGL_us-] found.
Track | CTDB Status
1 | (10/11) Accurately ripped
2 | (10/11) Accurately ripped
3 | (10/11) Accurately ripped
4 | (10/11) Accurately ripped
5 | (10/11) Accurately ripped
6 | (10/11) Accurately ripped
[AccurateRip ID: 0008951e-002d2004-47083406] found.
Track [ CRC | V2 ] Status
01 [050ffeb6|e40bd42c] (0+4/4) Accurately ripped
02 [963315b8|d410d1e8] (0+4/4) Accurately ripped
03 [2aede1e2|ffa3c8f4] (0+4/4) Accurately ripped
04 [bdd91314|4f0e2792] (0+4/4) Accurately ripped
05 [ab85e841|a00a9c8b] (0+4/4) Accurately ripped
06 [496f49f4|7a6c5278] (0+4/4) Accurately ripped

Track Peak [ CRC32 ] [W/O NULL] [ LOG ]
– 94,7 [8AE77FDC] [341EC22B] CRC32
01 93,8 [7CE5E7CF] [DED3E8D7]
02 93,6 [F26CC6B6] [E1A5B22F]
03 90,1 [4997FEEE] [B3104D1D]
04 91,3 [48C5AE7B] [9CEAB11A]
05 94,7 [A2FD7BD4] [09291517]
06 94,2 [FA4C4AF0] [138F4EB9]